Archiving chats moves them from the inbox to the archived folder. Archived chats still exist in your account and can be searched. It's similar to archiving emails or documents. You can alway unarchive chats and move them back to your inbox.
When a new message is received, the chat will automatically be moved back to the Inbox and be marked as unread.